Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young – Déjà vu

Recorded in 1969 and released in 1970, this is one of my all-time favourite albums. So much so that I’ve collected 6 different vinyl pressings of it. Déjà vu  produced  three Top 40 singles (Woodstock / Teach Your Children / Our House) and one Top 100 single (Carry On). With the exception of Woodstock, every song was recorded individually by each band member, and it took some 800 hrs to complete between July & December of 1969.

The reason I have multiple copies is mainly due to different sound quality variances of standard releases, but I also wanted the different covers, label variants and the audiophile grade reissue…and I’m not done yet. 🙂 Below is what I have so far.

These are 2 Canadian pressings with slightly different shades of the jacket and also 2 different labels. Canadian Atlantic Red label (left image) is quite desirable and collectible.

csny-deja-vu-collection-1

These are 2 French pressings. One with a Black and the other a White jacket, plus both have different labels. The latter is quite difficult to find in North America (I’ve only ever seen one, but they wanted too much coin), but I have a friend in Holland who was able to get it for me.

csny-deja-vu-collection-2

The LP on the left is is a Dutch pressing on the Atlantic “Plum”-coloured label (highly desireable) and the audiophile reissue by Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab. These are the two best-sounding copies I have.

csny-deja-vu-collection-3

Hopefully I can secure a very early U.S. and U.K. and/or also a German pressing.

My two favourite songs are Almost Cut My Hair and 4+20.

 

 

Leave a comment